About Us

NBSIA Member District Building


North Bay Schools Insurance Authority (NBSIA), a Joint Powers Authority (JPA), was established for the purpose of providing a self-funded risk sharing pool. Contributions to fund claims and services come from the members' general funds as a cost of doing business. The bottom line is that the combined efforts of NBSIA and member districts to manage their risks make NBSIA a very cost-effective and reliable alternative to commercial insurance.

State legislation was enacted in the mid-1970s to authorize public entities to self-insure and pool their assets to jointly control their risks and pay their claims.

Soon after, NBSIA was formed in response to the desire of school districts for higher quality service and a more cost-effective way to fund their workers' compensation and health benefits programs.

In 1985, NBSIA added the property/liability program, resulting in a comprehensive risk management program. Today, NBSIA provides programs in the following areas:

With member districts from from Davis to Benicia and throughout the Napa Valley, NBSIA provides services in Yolo, Solano and Napa counties.

Since its founding, membership satisfaction, stable rates and quality service have been the hallmarks of NBSIA. Commitment to these qualities--in combination with integrating a "team" approach to working with member districts--has garnered accolades from the state, independent auditors and other JPAs throughout California.

Since 1991, NBSIA has earned accreditation from the California Association of Joint Powers Authorities (CAJPA), recognizing that our program meets CAJPA's standards for pooling excellence with its Accreditation of Excellence designation.

Board of Directors

Executive Committee:

Tommy Welch, Solano County Office of Education

Vice President:
Michelle Henson, Fairfield-Suisun Unified School District

Josh Schultz, Napa County Office of Education

Member at Large:
Matt Best, Davis Joint Unified School District

Secretary to Board:
Janet Selby, NBSIA Executive Director


Board Members:

Tim Rahill, Benicia Unified School District

John Calise, Dixon Unified School District

Wade Roach, Napa Valley Unified School District

Robert Diamond, Solano Community College

Sonia Lasyone, Travis Unified School District

Janet Dietrich, Vacaville Unified School District

Gigi Patrick, Ed.D., Vallejo City Unified School District


Board Alternates:

Khushwinder Gill, Benicia Unified School District

Bruce Colby, Davis Joint Unified School District

Leanee Medina-Estrada, Dixon Unified School District

Rob Martinez, Ed.D., Fairfield-Suisun Unified School District

John Zikmund, Napa County Office of Education

Alejandro Hogan, Napa Valley Unified School District

Kim Kopp, Solano County Office of Education

Pam Conklin, Travis Unified School District

<VACANT>, Vacaville Unified School District

Hitesh Haria, Vallejo City Unified School District